Ankle Foot

The joints of the ankle

The ankle consists of three distinct joints:

talo-crural or true ankle joint involves the tibia, fibula and talus, the small bone between the tibia and calcaneus bones. This joint is responsible for flexion extension of the foot

sub-talar joint or talo-calcaneal joint is formed by the talus and the calcaneus (side rotation of the foot)

Inferior tibio-fibular joint (or syndesmosis joint) between the tibia and fibula.